– Magician for Hire –

Ohhhh, YEAH.  If there was ever any doubt I used to perform magic professionally, here is the PROOF!

Or, at least, proof that I scrounged up $15 when I was a kid and had these business cards made. And proof that I was completely obsessed with this large, Chinese coin that I turned into a necklace. No, my magic act did not have any Chinese magic in it; so why did I wear it?

Come on, LOOK at it! It’s cool. Yes, I’d say this card sums up why I love magic so much, and why I studied and practiced countless hours, memorizing passes and holds and catching angles in a mirror. Magic uses props that are interesting and eye-catching and imaginative, or takes mundane objects and transform them into the same. In short, magic is cool. This is why, despite not possessing the dexterity–or the time–to perform magic any longer, I remain fascinated enough that I’ll perform magic in my own way, by writing about it.

Now THIS guy could do some serious Chinese magic. I wonder if he had a coin necklace like mine?

My next project in this area (yet to have a start date) will be a story revolving around the life and times of Billy Robinson, an American magician who rose to stardom under the name Chung Ling Soo. Yep, that’s right. Not Chinese. Totally fooled everyone, for YEARS. Without a doubt the inspiration behind the “living the illusion” theme in the Prestige movie. Come to think of it, he is a great example of the OTHER reason I love magic so much, and germane to the reason I chose to write about him: the stories. Stories woven in magic acts and stories about magicians…they never fail to amaze. Can’t wait to get started!

One comment

  1. I do believe that there still remains some magic in that card, Amazing Chris … must not stare at the symbol too long … starting to … starting to … feel … wozy … under … hypnosis …

Leave a Reply

